Who’s Who in Singing Research

January 9th, 2014 Posted in Uncategorized

This is a list of researchers that I put together while researching my book about singing. It is by no means complete, it only reflects areas I looked into. Also, the descriptions in parenthesis are notes to myself and they are not necessarily how the person indicated would categorize their work. Some of the people on this list may not be researching singing per se, but I felt their work was related. (And a few of them were added recently.)

I thought this list might be useful to others looking into the science of singing. Suggestions for additions would be most welcome. I think I might update it later to include the papers I found useful and links to the researcher’s labs or websites.

Singing Researchers

Stephen Clift (Singing and Health)
The Sidney De Haan Research Centre for Arts and Health
s.clift@btinternet.com

Mary Cohen (Prison Choirs)
University of Iowa
mary-cohen@uiowa.edu

Proj. Jane Davidson (Group singing paper)
The University of Western Australia
jane.davidson@uwa.edu.au

Robin Dunbar (Performance and pain threshold)
University of Oxford, Oxford OX1 3UD, UK.
robin.dunbar@psy.ox.ac.uk

Dr. Thomas Fritz
Max Planck Institute for Human Cognitive and Brain Sciences
fritz@cbs.mpg.de

Grenville Hancox (Singing and Health)
The Sidney De Haan Research Centre for Arts and Health
grenville.hancox@canterbury.ac.uk

David Huron (Sad music)
Ohio State University
School of Music
huron.1@osu.edu

Petr Janata
University of California
pjanata@ucdavis.edu

Sebastian Jentschke
Max Planck Institute for Human Cognitive and Brain Sciences
jentschke@cbs.mpg.de 

Julene Johnson, PhD (Singing and Aging)
UCSF School of Nursing
Institute for Health & Aging
julene.johnson@ucsf.edu

Ai Kawakami (sad music)
RIKEN Brain Science Institute
amour.kawakami@gmail.com

Prof. Gunter Kreutz (Singing, S-iga)
University of Oldenburg
gunter.kreutz@gmail.com

Edward Large (Singing, rhythm, mirror neurons)
Florida Atlantic University
Music Dynamics Lab
large@ccs.fau.edu

Daniel Levitin
McGill University
Laboratory for Music Perception, Cognition and Expertise
dlevitin@psych.mcgill.ca

Linda Maguire (Singing and Alzheimers)
George Mason University
maguire.usa@gmail.com

Istvan Molnar-Szakacs (Singing and autism, mirror neurons)
UCLA Semel Institute for Neuroscience and Human Behavior
imolnar@ucla.edu

Kazuo Okanoya (sad music)
RIKEN Brain Science Institute
Okanoya@brain.riken.jp

Katie Overy
University of Edinburgh
k.overy@ed.ac.uk

Lawrence Parsons
The University of Sheffield
L.Parsons@sheffield.ac.uk 

Aniruddh Patel
The Neurosciences Institute/Tufts
a.patel@tufts.edu

Julie Ann Pooley
Edith Cown University
j.pooley@ecu.edu.au   

Valorie N. Salimpoor (effects of listening to music)
Rotman Research Institute
valorie.salimpoor@mail.mcgill.ca

Ahmet Muhip Sanal
Abant Izzet Baysal University
muhipsanal@yahoo.com

Gottfried Schlaug (singing and stroke)
Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center and Harvard Medical School
The Music And Neuroimaging Lab
gschlaug@bidmc.harvard.edu

Dr. Jeanette Tamplin (Singing and brain injury)
University of Melbourne
jeanette.tamplin@unimelb.edu.au

Michael Thaut
Colorado State University
Michael.Thaut@colostate.edu

Laurel Trainor (infant response to singing)
McMaster University
Auditory Development Lab

Robert Zatorre (music and the brain)
Montreal Neurological Institute 
robert.zatorre@mcgill.ca 

Be Sociable, Share!

Post a Comment